Senate Committee Stresses Need for LPG Industry Regulation

Legislation is required to ensure that the liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) business is regulated, according to the Senate Standing Committee on Cabinet Secretariat

The committee discussed the most recent LPG blast events during its meeting on Thursday, which was presided over by Senator Rana Maqbool Ahmad.

The committee stated that it is crucial for all LPG producing businesses to fall under the purview of the Oil & Gas Regulatory Authority in order to ensure that LPG usage is safe in the nation (OGRA). The committee came to the conclusion that businesses who disobey the rules should face severe penalties.

The committee emphasised the need for strict enforcement against offenders and suggested that registered cases be followed up on. The chairman of the committee commanded that information on all incidences and any further steps be provided to the committee within 15 days.

Senator Seemee Ezdi’s changes to the National Disaster Management (Amendment) Bill, 2022 were approved by the committee.

The chairman of the committee praised the bill and the efforts to create a comprehensive document that will be crucial in streamlining disaster management activities and serve as a legally-binding requirement for the commission to convene on a quarterly basis.

The committee discussed the Senator Abdul Qadir-introduced Special Technology Zones Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2022, and recommended that a committee be formed with members from both houses of parliament (the National Assembly and the Senate), as well as the Provincial Assemblies, in order to ensure that political leadership finds sound advice.

The Tosha Khana (Management and Regulation) Bill, 2022 was under consideration by the committee, and it was felt that it was a good collaborative effort with excellent intentions that would describe the protocol for Tosha Khana. The committee chairman gave the Ministry a week to thoroughly analyse the Bill and all of its sections and provide a report to the committee for consideration.

Senior officers from the Cabinet Division, Establishment Division, and OGRA attended the meeting in addition to Senators Seemee Ezdi, Khalida Ateeb, Saifullah Sarwar Khan Nyazee, Mohammad Akram, Syed Waqar Mehdi, Bahramand Khan Tangi, and Abdul Qadir.

Written by Aly Bukshi

The editorial staff at IPIN is a team of news publishing experts led by Aly Bakshi. We publish interesting and informative news/articles all over the world. Our aim is to provide readers with the latest and most up-to-date information possible.