Warner In Ashes Team, But Australia Keep Top Order Options Open

Australia’s lineup for the WTC championship match and the first two Ashes Test matches included David Warner.

David Warner was named to Australia’s team for the World Test Championship (WTC) final and the first two Ashes tests, but the selectors also called up Matt Renshaw and Marcus Harris to maintain their alternatives at the top of the batting order.

Warner has been under fire because to a recent slump in his batting, but he was able to make the 17-man team for the WTC final against India on June 7 at The Oval and the tests against England that will follow at Edgbaston and Lord’s after returning from injury.

Usman Khawaja replaced Harris as Warner’s opening partner, and Harris was only absent for the 2022–2023 test season.

As Cameron Green’s backup in the test squad, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh made his way back for the first time since the 2019 Ashes series in England, while wicketkeeper Josh Inglis, who is English by birth, was also picked.

Players that were cut from the team that toured India in February and March were batsman Peter Handscomb, all-rounder Ashton Agar, spinners Mitchell Swepson and Matt Kuhnemann, and batsman Peter Handscomb.

Head selector George Bailey remarked, “The UK is a completely different assignment from our most recent trip of India, and some of the modifications are based upon the conditions we are anticipating.

Marcus, Josh, and Mitch are all back on the team and bring important depth and versatility to their respective skill sets.

Off spinner Todd Murphy, who performed admirably in his first four tests in India, kept his spot in the side as Nathan Lyon’s backup despite the different playing conditions anticipated in England.

Before the final three Ashes tests at Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval in July, Bailey indicated the selectors will evaluate the team again.

That indicates that 36-year-old Warner, whose tour of India was cut short due to an elbow injury, likely has to rapidly recover from his recent form slump in which he has only scored one century in more over three years.

Squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Written by Muhammad Qasim