LQ vs IU: All You Need To Know About Today’s Clash

Lahore Qalandars are set to play against Islamabad United in the top-of-the-table 26th clash of the Pakistan Super League

Today (Thursday) at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi, Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will head off in the top-of-the-table 26th match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight.

Despite the fact that both clubs have 12 points after eight games, the Qalandars presently hold the first spot in the league table thanks to a higher net run rate.

In their most recent game, United, who have already qualified for the playoffs, upset Multan Sultans by two wickets following an exciting conclusion.

The Qalandars, who have also guaranteed their spot in the final four, dropped their most recent game to Peshawar Zalmi by a score of 35 runs.

The Qalandars’ elite bowling lineup, which includes Shaheen Afridi and Rashid Khan, and United’s explosive batting lineup, which includes the in-form Colin Munro and the risky Alex Hales, should make for an exciting game tonight.

On February 27 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, the Qalandars thrashed United with a commanding 110-run victory in the opening game between the two teams during the present tournament.

Lahore Qalandars will try to become the first team to win consecutive championships, while Islamabad United will try to make history by winning the trophy three times.

On March 19, the final and closing ceremony will take place in Lahore, which will also serve as the site of the playoffs.

In addition to receiving the Supernova Trophy, the victor will also receive a check for Rs120 million, while the losers will each receive a check for Rs48 million.


Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan, David Wiese, Hussain Talat, Haris Rauf, Abdullah Shafique, Sikandar Raza, Ahmad Daniyal, Dilbar Hussain, Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig, Shawaiz Irfan, Zaman Khan, Jalat Khan, Jordan Cox (wk), Ahsan Bhatti, Sam Billings (wk), Shane Dadswell.

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (c), Paul Stirling, Alex Hales, Sohaib Maqsood, Asif Ali, Rassie van der Dussen, Colin Munro, Hassan Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mubasir Khan, Tom Curran, Mohammad Waseem Jr, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azam Khan (wk), Fazalhaq Farooqi, Zafar Gohar, Rumman Raees, Zeeshan Zameer, Hasan Ali, Abrar Ahmed, Gus Atkinson

Remaining PSL 2023 schedule

9 March: Islamabad United v Lahore Qalandars, Pindi Cricket Stadium

10 March: Pakistan Women’s League Exhibition Match 2, Pindi Cricket Stadium; Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans, Pindi Cricket Stadium

11 March: Pakistan Women’s League Exhibition Match 3, Pindi Cricket Stadium: Quetta Gladiators v Multan Sultans, Pindi Cricket Stadium

12 March: Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi, Pindi Cricket Stadium; Lahore Qalandars v Karachi Kings, Gaddafi Stadium

15 March: Qualifier (1 v 2), Gaddafi Stadium

16 March: Eliminator 1 (3 v 4), Gaddafi Stadium

17 March: Eliminator 2 (loser Qualifier v winner Eliminator 1), Gaddafi Stadium

19 March: Final, Gaddafi Stadium

Written by Muhammad Qasim